Happy New Year! New Coffee!

 

Updated to correct typos.

It’s the second day of the year. I’m actually feeling pretty good about 2017. For me, 2016 was a time of change and quite dynamic. Yes, we lost some great musicians. The election was, unique to say the least.

I saw a picture posted on author John Scalzi’s Twitter page of a burning trashcan, labeled, “2016,” being hurled down a hill. A common sentiment for the past year is how awful it was. I highly recommend Scalzi’s “Old Man’s War” series, by the way.

2016, when it really comes down to it, was just another year. A mix of happiness, achievement, setbacks and sorrow, within the framework of the death, politics, and the continuing slow collapse of society.

But why be cynical or pessimistic? It gets one nowhere, fast. One can’t complain, but if they did, who would listen?

For me, the year has some great highlights: I returned to school in order to finish my degree. I finally decided to pursue writing after years of avoidance.

I even have a few ideas for some radio shows/podcasts and other types of musical discoveries. I was on the radio on a local station. Broadcasting, whether you enjoy the format or otherwise, is a spectacular catharsis for the soul.

I started playing guitar again and had some great D & D games with friends.  I played very few video games and finished three Star Trek series. My relationship with my fiance is stronger than ever.

I’ve also recently rediscovered artists like R. Stevie Moore, Jonathan Richman, Jonathan Coulton, They Might be Giants and older Dr. Demento shows. These, in and of themselves should not be a surprise to anybody who knows me.  In the coming year, this blog will focus on some of the music I enjoy and will be the focal point for research in a book I plan on writing about what is traditionally called “outsider” music.

That’s what 2016 means to me. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t great. New beginnings and whatnot. In 2017 I intend to explore some of the albums and artists that I enjoy and to post my thoughts about their work here on this blog. In addition to that, I will be reading a novel a week with any kind of luck and will also be posting reviews, thoughts, etc. here and on good reads.

That’s it for today. Until next time, don’t forget to pour another cup of coffee and play yourself some music!

Leave a Reply

